Monday, November 28, 2011

Facts about State Capitals

When I implemented the update in yesterday's blog regarding Wisconsin's state capital building, I decided to see if there was compiled information about all of the state capital buildings. I was pleased to find a web page "
Cupolas of Capitalism
State Capitol Building Histories

located at

For today's posting, I will summarize the web page's content.

This web page chronicles the rich and often colorful architectural history of the American State Capitol Buildings. Perhaps no other secular building type is so closely affiliated with dome and cupola designs, or use them as effectively as symbols of unity and power.

Listed below are the states with Capitol Buildings featuring prominent exterior cupolas, along with the years in which the construction of the cupola sections of the buildings started. The completion dates are complicated since most state capital buildings have been renovated many times. I also included the heights of the buildings and a few interesting facts. There are too many to include a picture for each -- I chose a few of my favorite pictures from the website. Please refer to the website listed above for details about the state capitals.

9 states do not have a cupola including:

Alaska (Juneau) 1923
Arizona (Phoenix) 1899
Hawaii (Honolulu) 1879 Originally was a palace for monarchy
New York (Albany) 1867
North Carolina (Raleigh) 1833
North Dakota (Bismark) 1920
Ohio (Columbus) 1838 Does have a 158 foot drum tower with inner dome.
Oregon (Salem) 1935 Does have a 178 foot drum tower with inner dome.
Virginia (Richmond) 1785

42 states (including DC) have capital buildings with an exterior cupola

Oldest state capital building: Massachusetts 1712
Tallest state capital building: Louisiana 450 feet tall

ALABAMA (Montgomery) 1851, 119 feet tall

ARKANSAS (Little Rock) 1899, 213 feet tall

CALIFORNIA (Sacramento) 1856, 220 feet tall with copper dome

COLORADO (Denver) 1886, 276 feet tall with gold gilded dome

CONNECTICUT (Hartford) 1792 old; 1872 new with gold leafed dome

DELAWARE (Dover) 1787 old, 1931 new with 90 foot cupola tower

DC (Washington) 1793, 287 feet tall with statute of freedom

FLORIDA (Tallahassee) 1839, 136 feet tall

GEORGIA (Atlanta) 1823, 259 feet tall with Miss Freedom statute

IDAHO (Boise) 1995, 208 feet tall capped with an eagle

ILLINOIS (Springfield) 1837 old, 1867 new, 361 feet tall

INDIANA (Indianapolis) 1877, 235 feet tall

IOWA (Des Moines) 1870, 275 feet tall with gold gilded cupola

KANSAS (Topeka) 1866, dome added in 1884, 304 feet tall

KENTUCKY (Frankfurt) 1827 old, 1925 new, 210 feet tall

LOUISIANA (Baton Rouge) 1847 old, 1930 new, 450 feet tall tower

MAINE (Augusta) 1828, 185 feet tall capped with statue of wisdom

MARYLAND (Annapolis) 1771, 181 feet tall

MASSACHUSETTS (Boston) 1712 old, 1795 new, 59 foot tall

MICHIGAN (Lansing) 1871, 267 feet tall

MINNESOTA (St. Paul) 1893, 223 feet tall

MISSISSIPPI (Jackson) 1836 old, 1901 new, 180 feet tall

MISSOURI (Jefferson City) 1911, 262 feet tall with statue

MONTANA (Helena) 1896, 165 feet tall

NEBRASKA (Lincoln) 1919, 400 foot tower with dome

NEVADA (Carson City) 1869, 120 feet tall

NEW HAMPSHIRE (Concord) 1815, 150 feet tall capped with an eagle

NEW JERSEY (Trenton), 1790, 145 feet tall

NEW MEXICO (Santa Fe) 1895 old, 1964 new -- but with no cupola

OKLAHOMA (Oklahoma City) 1914, 255 feet tall topped with statue

PENNSYLVANIA (Harrisburg) 1894, 272 feet tall with statue

RHODE ISLAND (Providence) 1759 old, 1895 new, 225 feet tall with statue

SOUTH CAROLINA (Columbia) 1859, 180 feet tall

SOUTH DAKOTA (Pierre) 1905, 161 feet tall

TENNESSEE (Nashville) 1845, 198 feet tall

TEXAS (Austin) 1881, 297 feet tall with liberty statue

UTAH (Sault Lake City) 1881 old, 1911 new, 301 feet tall

VERMONT (Montpelier) 1834, 136 feet tall

WASHINGTON (Olympia) 1892 old, 1919 new, 287 feet tall

WEST VIRGINA (Charleston) 1924, 292 copper capped cupola

WISCONSIN (Madison) 1906, 285 feet tall

WYOMING (Cheyenne) 1886, 146 feet tall

No comments:

Post a Comment